Safeway and Albertsons Name Jerry Callahan, Jerry Noland, Geoff White, Greg Matteri, and Over 70 More to Build Corporate and Regional Teams

Sponsored Message
Learn More

Fri. December 5th, 2014 - by Jordan Okumura-Wright

PLEASANTON, CA & BOISE, ID - Safeway and Albertsons have named over 70 executives to begin building their Corporate and Regional teams.

These executives include:

  • Jerry Callahan – Group Vice President, Produce and Floral
  • Jerry Noland – Vice President, Food Safety and Quality Assurance
  • Geoff White – Senior Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Greg Matteri – Senior Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising

This latest news follows the announcement of the new executive leadership team that will be guiding the combined companies in the wake of their proposed merger. This organizational model will keep the focus and financial responsibility at the division level, while still taking full advantage of the expertise, vision, and core capabilities of the Corporate team. The combined company will be made up of three regions and 14 retail divisions, supported by corporate offices in Boise, ID; Pleasanton, CA; and Arizona, AZ.

The merger, which is expected to close in the fourth quarter of 2014 following FTC approval, will create a network of over 2,400 stores, 27 distribution facilities, and 20 manufacturing plants with over 250,000 employees, according to a press release. No banner changes are planned for the combined company.

Just this week, Sam Zell, billionaire investor and Founder and Chairman of Equity Group Investments, has confirmed his interest in the over 100 soon-to-be divested Albertsons locations. Though a deal has not yet been confirmed, Zell calls it “an interesting opportunity and a good deployment of capital.”


For a full list of the executives announced, see below:


Legal – Bob Gordon, Executive Vice President & General Counsel

  • Paul Rowan –  Senior Vice President, Deputy General Counsel
    • Sue McMillan – Group Vice President, Real Estate Law
  • Mike Boylan – Vice President, Litigation & Employment Law
  • Dan Day – Vice President, Litigation & Regulatory (Chief Compliance Officer)
  • Laura Donald  – Vice President, Corporate & Business Law
  • Kathleen Smith – Vice President, Corporate Loss Prevention

Marketing & Merchandising – Shane Sampson, Executive Vice President

  • Dimitri Haloulos - Senior Vice President, Own Brands
  • Karl Schroeder – Senior Vice President, Corporate Merchandising
    • John Beretta – Group Vice President, Meat & Seafood
    • Jerry Callahan – Group Vice President, Produce and Floral
    • Pat Dennis – Group Vice President, GM/HBC
    • Bob Heally – Group Vice President, Deli/Prepared Foods
    • Jewel Hunt – Group Vice President, Bakery
    • Mike Massimino – Group Vice President, Grocery/Total Alcohol Beverage
  • Darren Singer – Senior Vice President, Pharmacy, Health & Wellness
    • Dan Salemi – Group Vice President, Pharmacy Services
  • George Dordevic – Group Vice President, Advertising
  • Tamara Pattison – Group Vice President, Loyalty and Analytics
  • Creighton Schenkel – Group Vice President,  Merchandising Analytics and Marketing Finance
  • Deb Fifles – Vice President, Consumer & Shopper Insights
  • Amy Kirby - Vice President,  In-Store Experience
  • Mike McCready – Vice President,  E-Commerce
  • Karl Meinhardt – Vice President,  Digital Marketing & Social Media
  • Jerry Noland – Vice President,  Food Safety and Quality Assurance

Human Resources, Labor Relations, Communications, Public Affairs & Government Affairs – Andy Scoggin, Executive Vice President

  • Jonathan Mayes – Senior Vice President, Public Affairs, Government Relations, Philanthropy & CSR
  • Dan Cousins – Vice President, Training & Leadership Development
  • Peggy Jones – Vice President, Division Human Resources
  • Cathy Lord – Vice President, Corporate Human Resources
  • Lisa Montalvo  – Vice President, Benefits
  • Christine Wilcox – Vice President, Internal Communications

Supply Chain & Manufacturing – Jerry Tidwell, Executive Vice President

  • Rick Bunnell – Senior Vice President, Distribution
  • Monica McCombs – Senior Vice President, Procurement
  • Evan Rainwater – Senior Vice President, Manufacturing
  • Len Ayres – Vice President, Engineering
  • Brad Egbert – Vice President, Supply Chain Finance and Operation Services

Finance – Bob Dimond, Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

  • Rob Larson – Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting Officer
  • Melissa Plaisance – Group Vice President, Strategic Initiatives
  • David Stern – Group Vice President, Financial Planning & Analysis
  • Bill Zachry – Group Vice President, Risk Management
  • Brian Baer – Vice President, Retail Finance North
  • Mike Bessent – Vice President, Treasurer NAI
  • Brad Fox – Vice President, Treasurer
  • Miles Kendall – Vice President, Retail Finance South
  • Carl McLean – Vice President, Retail Finance East
  • Bill Spoehr – Vice President, Internal Audit and SOX

Corporate Development and Real Estate – Justin Ewing, Executive Vice President

  • Steve Cogan – Senior Vice President, Real Estate
  • Scott Graham – Vice President, Market Research & National Programs
  • Todd Williams – Vice President, Corporate Development

East Region – Justin Dye, Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President

  • Ken Rinaldi – Director, Retail Initiatives

North Region – Kelly Griffith, Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President

  • Tracie Perry – Vice President, Retail Initiatives

South Region – Wayne Denningham, Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President

  • Jim Wallace – Vice President, Retail Initiatives

Denver – Paul McTavish, President

  • Susan Mudd-Powell – Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Kevin Wehrly – Vice President, Operations

Eastern – Steve Burnham, President

  • Tom Lofland – Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Dean Willhite –Vice President, Operations

Houston – Sidney Hopper, President

  • Jon Dickman – Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Kurt McMillan – Vice President, Operations

Intermountain – Susan Morris, President

  • John Colgrove – Vice President,  Marketing & Merchandising
  • Gineal Davidson – Director of Sales Support

Northern California – Tom Schwilke, President

  • Geoff White –  Senior Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Todd Broderick – Senior Vice President, Operations
  • Richard Pickering – Vice President, Sales Support

Portland – Dennis Bassler, President

  • Doug Campbell – Vice President,  Marketing & Merchandising
  • Jeff Buchanan – Vice President, Operations, Portland Division

Seattle – Dan Valenzuela, President

  • Dennis Schwarz – Senior Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Adam Wampler – Senior Vice President, Operations
  • Bob Reorda – Vice President, Sales Support

Southern – Scott Hays, President

  • David Urby – Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Steve Hanson – Vice President, Operations

Southern California – Lori Raya, President

  • Greg McNiff – Senior Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Wendy Oliver – Senior Vice President, Operations
  • Andy Barker – Vice President, Sales Support

Southwest – Shane Dorcheus, President

  • Greg Matteri – Senior Vice President, Marketing & Merchandising
  • Frank Cannistra – Senior Vice President, Operations

AndNowUKnow would like to congratulate all those named for joining these exciting new leadership teams.